A Gnat May Drink

A Gnat May Drink by Jonathan Hinton
One Hundred Annotated Games of Chess from 1900 to 1999

Paperback, 416 pages
Nominated for ACP Book of the Year Award 2013

A beautiful annotated games collection – featuring one hundred games from the twentieth century – presented chronologically with one game per year. Indexed by opening name, player name and ECO code.

This unique collection of games, one from each year of the twentieth century, is more than a look back at the games themselves. It is a welcome return to the way chess game anthologies were lovingly crafted in the middle years of the century. There is no bewildering morass of variations, as in all too many 21st century works. It is as readable as it is well-written, with verbal descriptions which enhance the aesthetic quality of the games, penned by a true enthusiast with insight into the prevailing chess culture as well as the ideas behind the moves.
Jonathan Hinton’s A Gnat May Drink struck a chord with chess lovers when released in 1999: the print run sold out almost instantly and it is not hard to see why. It features some of the most famous games of chess ever played as well as some little-known but delightful gems. It will appeal to a new generation of readers as well as those whose memories go back to the classic chess anthologies of the 1950s and 1960s.

Previous post

The official Play Magnus Educational Chess Set

Next post

DGT 960

The Author

Chess and Bridge

Chess and Bridge